Frequently Asked Questions

If you have a question not addressed on this page or elsewhere on our website, please E-mail us at tsafety@dps.state.nv.us.

Traffic Citations/Tickets

I lost a citation that I was issued in Nevada. I am not sure where I was at the time. I need to find out where to send the payment. Who do I call?

 

Try to recall where in the state you were traveling at the time you were issued the citation. There are many different law enforcement agencies in Nevada. Were you in the southern part of the state, in the Las Vegas area?  Were you in the northern part of the state, in the Reno area?  Were you in the eastern part of the state, in the Elko area? Nevada Highway Patrol can determine if they were the issuing agency. If they were not, they can try to determine where you were and what agency you need to contact. Nevada Highway Patrol Commands are:

 

Southern Command - Las Vegas area - 702-486-4100

Northern Command - Reno area - 775-688-2500

Central Command -   Elko area - 775-753-1111

 

 

I got a ticket and I have to take an Family Vehicle Safety Program (FVSP) class. Who do I call to find out when and where the classes are held?

Go to our Seat Belts & Car Seats Program Page at http://ots.nv.gov/Programs/OccupantProtection/ for the FVSP Provider List.

Crash Reports

I was involved in a crash in Nevada and need a copy of the report. Where can I get a copy?

 

Try to recall where in the state you were traveling at the time you were involved in the crash. There are many different law enforcement agencies in Nevada. Were you in the southern part of the state, in the Las Vegas area?  Were you in the northern part of the state, in the Reno area?  Were you in the eastern part of the state, in the Elko area? Nevada Highway Patrol can determine if they were the investigating agency. If they were not, they can try to determine where you were and what agency you need to contact. Nevada Highway Patrol Commands are:

 

Southern Command - Las Vegas area - 702-486-4100

Northern Command - Reno area - 775-688-2500

Central Command -   Elko area - 775-753-1111

 

 

Seat Belts & Car Seats

Does Nevada law require wearing a seat belt?

In Nevada, drivers and passengers in all seating positions are required to wear a seat belt or be in an approved child safety seat.  For more information click on: http://ots.nv.gov/Traffic_Laws/Traffic_Laws/

I will be visiting Nevada with my children and need to know what the child safety seat requirements are.

In Nevada, children younger than 6 years old and weighing less than 60 pounds must be properly secured in a properly installed car seat appropriate for their size and weight.

 

For more information on Nevada's car seat law: https://www.leg.state.nv.us/NRS/NRS-484B.html#NRS484BSec157

 

For more information on car seats and child safety in cars: http://www.safekids.org/safetytips/field_risks/car-seat

Motorcycles

Does Nevada law require wearing a helmet?

 

Motorcyclists and passengers In Nevada are required to wear helmets that meet standards set by the U.S. Department of Transportation.

 

The only exception is for mopeds 50 cc or under, with less than 2 horsepower and capable of no more than 30 mph.

 

 

I’ve never been on a motorcycle; can I take the Basic Rider course?

Yes, we have all levels of riders in our Basic Rider Courses. Our instructors teach you the basics you will need to safely ride a motorcycle.

Do I have to own a motorcycle to take this course?

No, we provide the training motorcycles; we also loan helmets if you don't have one.

Do I need a permit from DMV to take this class?

 

No, we provide testing during the course. When you pass our testing, you will be able to obtain a motorcycle endorsement.  Passing this course waives the DMV testing requirement.

 

 

Where can I find out more about motorcycle safety in Nevada?

Go to http://www.nevadarider.com/ for more information.